You are currently not logged in.

To take advantage of members discounts login.

If you're with a company who is a member, register with your company.

Otherwise continue and register as a guest.

The idea behind ISCA was sparked in February 2007, when a presentation was given to Engineers Australia by David Hood and Glenn Hedges titled “Does Australia Need an Environmental Rating Scheme for Non-Building Projects”.  This generated industry interest such that in the following March, a Steering Committee was formed which:

  • Nominated scheme boundaries and scope
  • Decided to conduct an investigation into other similar schemes and tools in existence locally and internationally to prevent duplication of efforts
  • Acted as an “epi-centre” for scheme initiation

The Steering Committee members were unable to find a similar tool or group developing such a scheme and agreed that stakeholder input and support would be essential if a scheme was to be developed.  The committee developed a business case and on 28 February 2008, the Australian Green Infrastructure Council (AGIC) was launched at Queensland’s Parliament House as “Open for Membership”.

During the months of May through August 2008, AGIC was registered as a business, a constitution was prepared and a draft framework for a rating tool was completed.  October 2008 saw Doug Harland appointed as AGIC’s first CEO and Antony Sprigg from GHD was engaged as the Tool Development Project Manager.

In November 2008, development of the rating tool commenced with the first round of Pilot Trials in August 2011 and the second round in October. Successful completion of these Pilot Trials saw the Tool finalised and launched nationally, and in each State and Territory as follows:



Launched By


29 February 2012

Hon Anthony Albanese MP

Minister for Infrastructure and Transport
Leader of the House of Representatives


8 March 2012

Hon Brad Hazzard MP

Minister for Planning and Infrastructure
Minister Assisting the Premier on Infrastructure


30 April 2012

Hon Gerry McCarthy MLA

Minister for Transport, Correctional Services, Construction,
Arts & Museums, and Lands & Planning


19 June 2012

Menno Henneveld

Managing Director, Main Roads Western Australia


8 August 2012

Elana Rubin

Chair, Australian Super


5 September 2012

Hon Patrick Conlon MP

Minister for Transport and Infrastructure
Minister for Housing and Urban Development


18 April 2013

Hon Andrew Cripps MP

Minister for Natural Resources and Mining


In November 2011, ISCA’s inaugural Chairman of the Board, Adjunct Professor David Hood AM, retired with David Singleton being elected to the post.  Doug Harland retired in March 2012 as CEO with Antony Sprigg being appointed as his replacement.

At the AGM held on 12 December 2012, the membership voted to change the name of the organisation from AGIC to the Infrastructure Sustainability Council of Australia (ISCA) which came into effect on 4 April 2013.

Australia’s first IS rating was awarded to the Whitsunday Sewage Treatment Plants Upgrade as a Design rating achieving the level of Excellent. This project is being designed, constructed and operated by Tenix for the Whitsunday Regional Council. The rating was awarded at the QLD launch of the IS rating scheme on 18 April 2013.

ISCA thanks everyone who contributed funds, content, time and effort in the development of the IS rating scheme, in particular the Sponsors, Category Authors, Peer Reviewers, Global Review Panel and Pilot Trials. 



Commonwealth Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency  
Commonwealth Department of Infrastructure and Transport  
NSW Department of Environment, Climate Change and Water  
Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads  
BlueScope Steel  
Plastics Industry Pipe Association  
Queensland Department of Environment and Resource Management  
Civil Contractors Federation  



Category Authors

UTS ISFAureconEnviroPartners
WorleyParsonsNetBalanceEnvisage Consulting
Parsons BrinckerhoffEdge EnvironmentAECOM



Peer Reviewers

Julian HillEd SmithSteve Lee
Jane ScanlonBill MorrisMichael Nolan
Brian GarsdenRebecca HendyRobert Power
Mark CardenBrett LanePenny Townley
Mark LathamBrett DonaldsonMichael Gerner



Global Review Panel


Tool Scorecard Design

Rick WaltersDavid BentleyScott Losee
Denis Else Tony Stapledon 
Rob Turk Kelly O'Halloran 
Russell Cutler   



Pilot Projects

Shannon DamCity LinkEnlarged Cotter Dam
Lithgow Sewage Treatment PlantSouthport Broadwater Parklands Great Eastern Highway Upgrade - Belmont
Logan Water MainEastern Tertiary AllianceInner West Busway along Victoria Road
Eastern BuswayToorourrong Reservoir UpgradeGlenfield Transport Interchange
Great Eastern Highway - Roe InterchangeKingsgrove to Revesby QuadruplicationNorthern Busway (RCH to Windsor)



In-Kind Support

GHDArupParsons Brinckerhoff
ThiessClayton UtzManidis Roberts
QLD Department of Environment and
Resource Management
CRC for Infrastructure Engineering
Asset Management


For more information on ISCA, please contact us.


Founding Members

ISCA would not be operating today, providing IS ratings and training, or working with industry and government to improve Australia's infrastructure if it were not for a select group of members.  Our Founding Members contributed significantly to the establishment and development of our organisation and the IS rating scheme.  We thank and recognise these members for their commitment and contribution.

Actew WaterAecomArupBrisbane City CouncilCivil Contractors Federation
Clayton UtzEvans and PeckHerbert Smith FreehillsGHDLend Lease
Local Government Infrastructure ServicesManidis RobertsMWHOffice of Environment and HeritageParsons Brinckerhoff
Queensland Environmental Protection AgencyThiessWinslow GroupWorley Parsons