Sign in

City of Melville


The City of Melville is located on the Swan River in Perth, Western Australia, where a diverse and multicultural community enjoys a rich built and natural heritage, a blend of retail and business precincts, an abundance of opportunities for physical and social activity, open spaces and a unique natural landscape.

The City is located eight kilometres from the Perth Central Business District, in an area of 52.72 square kilometres featuring 18.1 kilometres of foreshore. The City consists of 18 suburbs divided into six wards, connected by over 1,200 kilometres of local, arterial and major roads.

With a population of approximately 103,767 within 40,546 dwellings, the City of Melville is the third largest local government authority in the metropolitan region. The total population of the City is expected to increase by more than 6,700 people by 2022.

City of Melville Suburbs

Alfred Cove, Applecross, Ardross, Attadale, Bateman, Bicton, Booragoon, Brentwood, Bull Creek, Kardinya, Leeming, Melville, Mount Pleasant, Murdoch, Myaree, Palmyra, Willagee and Winthrop.

City of Melville - The Local Government Organisation

The organisation employs more than 700 full-time, part-time and casual employees, and provides more than 200 products and services including: recreation centres, aquatic centres, libraries, crèches, pre-school centres, community centres, food inspection services, citizenships, recycling, planning and building services, maintenance, streetscapes, landscaping disability services, immunisation clinics, cultural and educational centres, environmental preservation and management, control of bushfires, dogs, parking, neighbourhood security, sporting facilities, children playgrounds and tourist promotions, volunteer resources and support for community organisations.


Tel: (08) 9364 0666